About the Top of the South Filmmakers Incorporated.

We are a collective of passionate filmmakers from across the Nelson, Tasman, and Marlborough Region pushing the boundaries of creativity in film.

Originally known as Top of the South Film Productions Incorporated, it was renamed in 2021 to Top of the South Filmmakers Incorporated (TSF). It was established in 2015 by Aaron Falvey (Marlborough) and Doug Brooks (Nelson), who shared the vision of building a critical mass of passionate filmmakers from the Nelson, Tasman and Marlborough regions.

The purpose of the Society is fourfold-

  • Nurture filmmaking excellence.
  • Support the growth of the film industry in the Top of the South.
  • Facilitate educational opportunities for filmmakers to develop their craft.
  • Provide opportunities for filmmakers to showcase their films and filmmaking techniques.
  • Pecuniary gain is not a purpose of the Society.

Both Nelson and Marlborough hold monthly meetings on the 1st Tuesday of the month to provide opportunities to network and discuss film projects with other filmmakers. 

Important Society Documents

The rules govern the purpose and management of the TSF society.
Last Updated: November 2023

A foundational policy that outlines the acceptable standards of behaviour within our Top of the South Filmmakers Society.
Last Updated: November 2023

Rules outlining the application process and guidelines for the approval of grants to TSF members for their film projects.
Last Updated: May 2023

Details around how the TSF and this website manage privacy and personal information.
Last Updated: November 2023

By using this website, you agree to these terms and conditions.
Last Updated: November 2023

Rules outlining the application process and guidelines for the approval of scholarship grants to TSF members.
Last Updated: May 2023

TSF Executive Committee

As an Incorporated Society, the management of TSF is governed by seven Executive Committee members. They are voted in by the Society members at the AGM each year.

The Executive Members elected in September 2023 are-

  • Chairperson - Justin Eade
  • Vice-Chairperson - Aaron Falvey
  • Secretary - Karen Scott
  • Treasurer - Vaughan Scott
  • Andreas Gabriel
  • Angela Zame
  • Kris Cavit
  • Monica Pausina

Film Festival Director

The Festival Director is appointed annually by the Executive Committee. They are responsible for successfully managing the festival, providing regular reports and seeking support from the Executive Committee.


Tim Hawthorne

Contact Top of the South Filmmakers